Bald blog 1

So where do I start? I have never blogged before but I find writing a very therapeutic way of sorting through things that happen in my life, always have done.

Recently I have had to accept that my life has gone “off roading” and whilst I am trying to understand what I am going through, I am having to try and explain to my friends and family too, which is actually really difficult when even doctors can’t provide any real answers.

Long story short, my immune system has turned on itself meaning I have very quickly come to realise that auto immune diseases can change your life totally, unexpectedly and indeed very quickly.

Long story short, in the last few days I have been diagnosed with ME (Myalgic Encephalomyelitis – bit of a tongue twister!), more commonly known as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS).  Alongside this I am suffering with alopecia areata and rheumatoid arthritis.

I have been trying to do as much research as I can but, if you know anything about CFS, will understand that spending the time even contemplating reading, researching, turning on the computer can use up the energy you stored up for the day! However, this is also one of the main reasons for me starting this blog.  There are lots of ‘medical’ sites with information but not many articles, blogs etc written by people who are actually living daily life with these illnesses and for me, that is what would be most useful.

So, on this blog I will try and give an insight into what living daily life with these illnesses is like.  Try and spread some awareness and understanding about “hidden illnesses” so that if you are ever in a situation where a loved one is going through it or if you end up dealing with it yourself, you can have some kind of head start into having some empathy and being able to give some support.

Thanks in advance for sharing this little experience with me, knowing that it might open a door to making links with other sufferers or simply just raising some awareness, is a little light in a somewhat dingy room right now.

Hairless Hannah

xx

Leave a Reply

